Reaction to Dealing with Difficult Conversations

Standard

Photo courtesy of dealingwithdifficultpeople.org

I’ve just finished the NewsU course on Dealing with Difficult Conversations. I enjoyed this course because it dealt with real life situations and how to best handle them, especially in the world of public relations. I learned from the quiz that I am in favor of the collaboration style, happily right in the middle of competition and avoidance. I felt like this described me accurately because while I’m not a fan of confrontation, I won’t necessarily avoid it either. It is not my favorite thing to do, but when needed, I know how to handle it. However, knowing how to handle these situations isn’t something that comes easy and it requires a lot of patience and humility along with the right words to handle conflict the correct way.

The most valuable thing I learned was how to correctly start a difficult conversation. I’m not a speaker and sometimes I have a difficult time wording things the right way. I can write a great paper on the appropriate subject, but when it comes out of my mouth, somehow it doesn’t sound as great. The course gave several legitimate examples, such as dealing with employee who smells. Ideally, no one wants to have to deal with that, but as head of a company, it is necessary. I definitely took away some key concepts for how to start and finish a difficult conversation with someone.

I found the course to be informative and easy to understand. I liked the fact that it asked me how I would handle the situation and then compared my answer with the correct one. Sometimes my answers were right on, and sometimes they weren’t even close. It’s good to have practice for handling these conversations, so you know the right things to say and are careful not to offend anyone.

It was also helpful to know that when having a difficult conversation, its okay to have a representative from HR there with you. Hopefully, this will eliminate an outburst from a disgruntled employee and they can help you with handling things.

Overall, this was a very informative course. I liked the way it was set up with a compilation of videos, illustrations and text that were engaging for the users.

One response »

  1. I really enjoyed reading your post. I also like that they covered topics as simple as “dealing with the employee that smells”. I would hate to have that conversation but the course was very informative on how to handle that. I am so happy that you emphasized having humility when dealing with these topics. I think it is easy to sometimes forget that these difficult conversations are not to embarrass anyone but rather they are to help the person grow. Overall I really enjoyed your blog.

Leave a Reply

